Planning Commission


  • Chair–Peter DeMuth (2024)
  • Darren Browen (2026)
  • Paul Crosland (2024)
  • Nick Preisler (2026)
  • Sara Van Asten (2026)

The Planning Commission serves 3 year terms and begins July 1st.

The Planning Commission advises the City Council on issues involving the establishment of and compliance with the Comprehensive Plan, the Zoning Ordinance, and the Subdivision Ordinances. The Commission reviews residential, commercial, and industrial development proposals in order to ensure compliance with the City’s goals and objectives set forth in the Comprehensive Plan, Zoning Ordinance, and Subdivision Ordinance. They then make a recommendation to the City Council on the proposal.

The Dayton Planning Commission regularly meets on the First Thursday of each month.  Meetings begin at 6:30 p.m. and are held at Dayton City Hall.  Questions can be sent to Community Development Director Jon Sevald at (763) 712-3221 ( The agenda packets and meeting minutes are available to view online or at City Hall.

Please note: any changes to times or additional meetings can be found on our website calendar.